Trained as a graphic designer, Floë has always left an essential place for drawing. It was at the beginning of the 2000s that she started her adventure, following her various encounters in the graffiti world. Her favourite subjects are mainly the representation of women, but also human relations, emotions and love between people.

In an interview for Kozé magazine, she introduces us to this feminine figure that she develops through her paintings:

She comes back almost all the time. It’s my brand image. I draw women constantly, or at least a representation of women in general. And in the end, a bit of me too (laughs)! What I particularly appreciate is to naturally show her, with her flaws, like a woman who assumes herself with her curves, and her hair. The very opposite image of what the Media reflect. I like the contrast between the sexy, but dripping women.From time to time, I tend to add a more masculine side that we can all have as women.”

She works on this representation of the relationship to femininity by using sharp, marked lines, acid colours and shapes that sometimes go beyond the frame.

In her inspirations, we can find artists who, just like her, have a strong visual identity.  We can name the French graffiti artist “Honet”, or Cleon Peterson’s paintings, but also the satirical and minimalist illustrations of Joan Cornella.

More informations:

Website

Instagram

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Présentation de l’artiste Floë

Graphiste de formation, Floë a toujours laissé une place essentielle au dessin. C’est au début des années 200 qu’elle se lance dans son aventure, suite à ses différentes rencontres dans le milieu du graff. Dans ses sujets de prédilection, on retrouve principalement la représentation des femmes, mais aussi les relations humaines, les émotions et l’amour entre les gens.

Dans une interview pour le magazine Kozé, elle nous présente cette figure féminine qu’elle développe au travers de ses peintures:

« Elle revient presque tout le temps à vrai dire. C’est mon image de marque. Je dessine tout le temps des femmes ou du moins une représentation de la femme en général. Et au final, un peu de moi aussi (rires) ! Ce que j’aime particulièrement c’est de l’exposer au naturel avec ses défauts, comme une femme qui s’assume avec ses rondeurs et ses poils. L’image inverse de celle que nous renvoient les Médias. J’aime bien le contraste entre la femme sexy et dégoulinante à la fois. Parfois, je rajoute une facette plus masculine que l’on peut aussi avoir en tant que femme. »

Cette représentation du rapport à la féminité, elle la travaille en usant de traits nets, marqués, de couleurs acidulés et de formes qui parfois débordent du cadre.

Dans ses inspirations, on retrouve des artistes qui, comme elle, présente une forte identité visuelle.  On peut citer l’incontournable nom du graffiti français Honet, ou encore les peintures de Cleon Peterson, mais aussi les illustrations satiriques et minimalistes de Joan Cornella.

Pour aller plus loin

Site

Instagram

Hit enter to search or ESC to close